Author Topic: How "common" is the christian name Nixon? Need help please with ages too  (Read 5971 times)

Offline Cell

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Two words that can change the world "Thank You"
    • View Profile
Hi,
 Could anyone tell me how common a name is the Christian name Nixon in Ireland ( Antrim) during the second half of the 1800's?

Why I'm asking this is I've found an entry for a marriage in 1889 of a Nixon Graham  at the Ulster historical foundation website( and for the same year with a separate search -  a Susan Boyd which  I know is a pretty "common name") It seems it will set me back 10 pounds to view it.

If Nixon is a pretty uncommon name, I will definitely bite the bullet and pay to view it. I'll know if it's the right one when I view it as I do have his fathers name too ( which was James Graham)  Most of the Grahams came from Ballymoney, then moved onto Ballymena at some date

I'm just beginning to trace my Irish lot, and know nothing about tracing the Irish. It has always seemed in the past a very daunting task tracing this when I'm not in Ireland or the UK.

My mum is N.Irish, and  I do have the names of my own grandparents ( who I knew), and  names of my Great grandparents etc.

Nixon Graham and Susan (Nee Boyd) are my Great grandparents ( my grandfather's parents) . My grandfather was born around the early 1900's ( not sure of date, will have to phone my mum on that one -  I know my gran's birth date 1919 and he was quite a bit older than my gran)

So this 1889 marriage of one Nixon Graham in Antrim looks a good possibility to me, that he may be my Grandfather's dad ,Nixon

I just really wanted to know how common a Christian name is Nixon before I fork out 10 pounds for something, when there maybe thousands and thousands of people named Nixon. It sounds an uncommon name to me, but there again I know nothing about Ireland.