Author Topic: The YELL family in Hull  (Read 4215 times)

Offline SIMON6135

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
The YELL family in Hull
« on: Saturday 19 February 11 18:19 GMT (UK) »
Hi there

I'm still fairly new to this interest and am wondering if anybody out there could help with a query I have come across. It concerns a David Yell born in Q4 1874 in Hull. I can find birth, marriage and death records from various free to use websites (what would you expect from a Yorkshireman!!) but no details that would allow me to trace his parents.

There is a Yell family listed in Hull in the 1881 census which could possibly be his, again an assumption, as there is a gap the birth years of the children which would suit David quite well. His father is listed as William from Walpole, mother is Annie from Neston, brothers Fred and William from Hull and finally Henrietta, his sister. Their birth years are 1840, 1841, 1869, 1870, and 1876 respectively. As you can see David would fit well in the gap.

The parents are from Norfolk and I know from his Granddaughter that there is / was a Norfolk connection in the Family in the past although it could well be from David’s wife, Edith whose family also have Norfolk connection. It is believed that David was in the Navy but whether it was royal or merchant is not yet known.
If anybody has any thoughts or ideas I’d be most grateful to hear from them.

Simon
BEESTON LEEDS & HULL
WATTS HULL & BEVERLEY
STEPHENSON HULL & BEVERLEY
CLARKSON HULL

Offline Isobelruss

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: THE YELL FAMILY IN HULL
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 19 February 11 18:31 GMT (UK) »
Strange that hes not on 1881 or 1891 with same family?