Author Topic: Closer Settlement Scheme - James Collis BIRD  (Read 22980 times)

Offline glenhodgins

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Closer Settlement Scheme - James Collis BIRD
« on: Friday 12 August 11 10:34 BST (UK) »
Greetings:

Although I have been undertaking genealogical research for several years, this is the first time I have ever had to deal with a person residing in Australia.  As a result, I'm fumbling a bit. Any help any one can offer -- either substantive information or just a point in the right direction -- would be greatly appreciated.

I am currently researching a Commander James Collis Bird, (born 1885, Westminster, London, England).  He had a distinguished naval career, serving in the British merchant marine, the Royal Indian Marine, and the Royal Navy (in both World Wars).  He was awarded the Distinguished Service Cross (for gallantry in Mine sweeping in WWI) and the Royal Human Society Medal for Lifesaving.

Right now I am focussing on James Collis Bird's time between the two World Wars, when he emigrated from UK to Australia. In this respect, I have thus far ascertained the following about him:

1. Bird was taken on strength of the Royal Australian Navy's Emergency List on 2 September 1922.
2. on 1923 May 25: Bird arrived in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
3. Bird appears in the 1924 Australian Electoral Roll, indicated as residing in Gonn Crossing, Victoria, Australia, with the occupation of “farmer”.
4. Bird was allocated Plot 59 under the Closer Settlement Scheme in 1919.
5. by 12 Oct 1939 Bird was back in the UK (again) serving in RN (for the duration of the war).

My question: are there any easily accessible records (either on line by myself or via a researcher) regarding the "Closer Settlement Scheme". One would assume there would have to be an application process of some sort, and such documents might yield useful information.