Author Topic: BOERS - ROYAL ARTILLERY - LOVELESS  (Read 2690 times)

Offline JSAK

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
BOERS - ROYAL ARTILLERY - LOVELESS
« on: Sunday 13 May 12 10:55 BST (UK) »
I'm still quite new to this but wondered if this might be of interest to anyone, or if anyone might have further information.
This man is my gg grandfather William Loveless born 1856, with proven links to Tolpuddle Martyrs James Hammett and George & James Loveless.
William left Tolpuddle with his brother James in 1876, and William eventually ended up in Durham, probably sometime in 1881 after his first wife (Annie) died.
This picture has been dated early to mid 1880's and I am informed the uniform is likely to be Royal Artillery private.
I have some very old valentine and other cards the family always said had been sent back from 'the Boers'. The valentines were apparently sent from William to his second wife, or wife to be at the time, Mary Moreland (my gg grandmother).
Is it possible he was involved in the Boer Wars?
His children with Mary were born 1886, 1888, 1893, and 1895 if this helps with timing.
Any information about his likely military involvement would be appreciated.
Best wishes
Tolpuddle Martyrs
Loveless
Hammett
Martin
HMS Warspite WW1

Offline mmm45

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: BOERS - ROYAL ARTILLERY - LOVELESS
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 13 May 12 11:49 BST (UK) »
Cant see any  W Loveless listed on medal rolls for South Africa but there is a J Loveless listed with the Royal Field Artillery.
Maybe best to check pre WW1 Service records on Find My Past

Ady
Lowe(Lower Gornall-Castleford)
Blackburn (Castleford)
Sidwell(Ledsham)
Fairburn(Hartshead)
Wood(Liversedge)
Tallon (Whittington Lancs/Hartshead West Yorkshire)

Researching all Great War soldiers from the Spen Valley of West Yorkshire Especially lads from the Cleckheaton Company of 1/4th West Riding Regiment.

Offline JSAK

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile