Author Topic: Pomarium, Perth  (Read 13325 times)

Offline Jerik24

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Pomarium, Perth
« on: Sunday 20 May 12 13:32 BST (UK) »
Hi I was wondering if anyone can help.  I am new to RootsChat so not sure if I am doing this right.  I am currently doing my family tree and a lot of my family were born in Pomarium.  Does anyone have any information they can give me on Pomarium I am from Perth so I know where it was etc, but have been unable to find out what it looked like/what it was like before it was taken down and the flats were put up.  If anyone can help with any information would be such a great help.  My family lived there from about 1870 - 1915.  Thanks Jeri  :)

Offline dixons

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
Re: Pomarium, Perth
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 20 May 12 16:10 BST (UK) »
Hi,
Have never seen a photograph of Pomarium but the attached etching might be of interest

regards,

dixons

Offline Throth

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 20 May 12 19:01 BST (UK) »
We were told that Pomarium (orchard) had been the area opposite the present-day bus station.  Check with the Local History section in the Library.

Isis (www.borenich.co.uk)

Offline bleckie

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Sunday 20 May 12 19:51 BST (UK) »
Hi All

From memory if you stand in the main carpark for the library and look at the hotel in front of you.

To you right is a row of shops and a Chinese restaurant and a carpark this was the pomarium orchard.

I remember collecting pears in the early sixties from here to us kids it didn't matter whether they were hard or soft they were our's and free.

http://maps.nls.uk/atlas/bartholomew/view/?id=1210

If you use the above link zoom in the pomarium orchard was from memory bounded by Pomarium street, Leonard street and Hospital street.

Yours Aye
BruceL

Offline DDJJake

• RootsChat Veteran