Author Topic: SWARBRICK and variants  (Read 16052 times)

Offline jds1949

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
SWARBRICK and variants
« on: Friday 01 June 12 21:14 BST (UK) »
Just to flag up that I have been researching Swarbrick families for over twenty years and I have data on some 70+ separate Swarbrick families. I am always ready to share information - so if you have a Swarbrick connection please get in touch.

jds1949
Swarbrick - all and any - specially interested in all who served in WW1

Offline jmgt100

• RootsChat Pioneer
    • View Profile
Re: SWARBRICK and variants
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 06 November 13 01:59 GMT (UK) »
I am just getting in touch regarding Alice Swarbrick, born 1665 I think, she married a Richard Gillow. I can trace their descendants.  There may be a brother James and a sister Mary. The father was John I think, from Great Singleton. These Swarbricks  were strongly Catholic I believe. Any information on these Swarbrick's and their ancestors.

Offline jds1949

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 07 November 13 10:26 GMT (UK) »
Hi,

I have some, limited, information on Alice as there is a [very] tenuous link to my own family. As you are no doubt aware records of families - especially Catholics - in the 17th century are hard to find and not always as clear as we might like - so what I have is my best guess based on what I have found.

What follows is in two parts so as to fit in the character limit of this message system:

My distant relative was Ann Swarbrick who was a daughter of George and Margaret. She was baptised on Tuesday the 9th May 1786. Her Uncle, Henry Kitchen, stood as one of her Godparents; the other was an Elizabeth Swindlass. On Saturday the 10th May 1806, which can only have been two or three days after her twentieth birthday, Nancy married Joseph Swarbrick at the church of St Mary and St Michael, Garstang.