Author Topic: Cornton House, Stirling 1871  (Read 6488 times)

Offline barbara13511

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Cornton House, Stirling 1871
« on: Thursday 07 June 12 18:35 BST (UK) »
Can anyone do me a look up of the above to see who was staying there in 1871?

Thanks

Offline CaroleW

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Barney 1993-2004
    • View Profile
Re: Cornton House, Stirling 1871
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 07 June 12 18:59 BST (UK) »
Hi

As far as I know - only Find My Past have the Scottish census searchable by address and their T & C's prevent such info being published from their website
Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
Carlin (Ireland & Liverpool) Doughty & Wright (Liverpool) Dick & Park (Scotland & Liverpool)

Offline barbara13511

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 07 June 12 19:08 BST (UK) »
Thanks Carole, I have a subscription to that site but nothing is coming up under Cornton or Cornton St or Easter Cornton or Cornton House using the address search.  I thought perhaps someone had knowledge of this place.

Barbara

Offline SandyMcJ

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Thursday 07 June 12 20:10 BST (UK) »
Duncan and Jamieson's Stirling Directory for 1870-71 doesn't list a Cornton House. Do you know what type of house it was - was it possibly a farm?

1866 'Threepeny Guide' gives names of a number of farmers in the area:
Robert Lucas at Mid-Cornton, John Proudfoot at West-Cornton and Thomas Steel at East-Cornton.

These guides are available free on Internet archive. Go to http://archive.org/details/texts and type Stirling directories into search box.

Hope this might help a bit

Sandy

Offline barbara13511

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: Thursday 07 June 12 20:20 BST (UK) »