Author Topic: Woods and Manton in/around Lyddington  (Read 5637 times)

Offline maisiemo

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Woods and Manton in/around Lyddington
« on: Saturday 07 July 12 13:55 BST (UK) »
I have been researching our family history for only a few months and am not experienced enough to know where to go from here on this one, so would appreciate any help.

My great grandfather was Thomas William Manton Woods, and in the family we have always known of him by that name, born in Lyddington in 1871.  His mother is Catherine Manton, born 1849 in Burton Overy.  I have been trying to find his father but keep drawing blanks.  Today I received Thomas’ birth certificate from GRO.  There is no name shown for his father.

From the census I have the following:

1851   Catherine age 1yr - living with mother Mary, (born 1825) Lyddington

1861   cannot find record of Catherine or mother

1871   Catherine MANTON age 21 - living with mother and father (Thomas and Mary) and siblings plus her son      Thomas William MANTON, born 1871   

1881   Catherine WOODS age 32, married - living with widowed mother Mary, two of her siblings, plus Thomas W Manton WOODS age 10, shown as grandson to Mary; and a grand-daughter Mary Ann WOODS, age 7, Catherine’s daughter??

1891   Catherine Woods, now head of family, age 41, widow, plus son William age 20, and a visitor Caroline Beadman (Catherine’s mother’s maiden name was Beadman).

1901   Catherine Woods, age 52, living on her own in Lyddington.
1901   Thomas W Manton Woods, age 30, now married to Caroline Elizabeth Spencer, with 5 of their eventual 9 children, including my beloved grandad Sidney William Woods.

Where did the name WOODS come from in Catherine’s life?  I can find no marriage to a Woods between 1871-1881, no death of a male Woods between 1881-1891, and no Woods male to be seen around the family in any of the census records.