Author Topic: St Nicholas Without - Dublin  (Read 4385 times)

Offline Suzie_Australia

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
St Nicholas Without - Dublin
« on: Saturday 04 August 12 14:44 BST (UK) »
Hi all,

I'm new to be venturing into Dublin on my research trail but have found a hint that may be worth pursuing.

On www.irishgenealogy.ie  I have found two burial records for St Nicholas Without.  Details as follows:

1.  Christopher Behan of Francis Street on 23 December 1835 Age 64
2.  Ann Behan of Plunket Street on 25 January 1837 Age 74

All other details i.e. date of death and occupation are Not Recorded.

So where do I go from here.  I've done some reading about "St Nicholas Without" - all seems very complicated to me.  Can't find anything on familysearch.org and general "google" searches.

Haven't come across a cemetery as such other than a place called "Cabbage Garden"??

My aim here is to find out if the two persons above were husband and wife and if the wife's maiden name was "Dee".

Any guidance and/or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Regards to all
Hays/Hayes (County Down); Gentry (Essex); Quelch (Oxford, Middlesex); Majory (County Down); Mungovan (County Clare); Enright (County Clare)

Offline shanew147

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Dublin, Ireland
    • View Profile
Re: St Nicholas Without - Dublin
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 04 August 12 14:56 BST (UK) »
The parish these burials are registered in is the Church of Ireland parish of St. Nicholas without. This was a small parish and the church was St. Luke's, in the Coombe. The parish was united with the nearby parish of St. Luke's in 1861.

The church was closed about 1975 and is now derelict. The 'without' refers to the parish outside the old city walls - there was also a parish named St. Nicholas within. I think the cemetery adjacent to the church, or at least part of it, has been lost due to development.