Author Topic: CLIFFORDS of Londonderry  (Read 3248 times)

Offline Tassie T

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
CLIFFORDS of Londonderry
« on: Sunday 23 September 12 12:19 BST (UK) »
Hi, I am new to Rootschat and am seeking help to find more information about the Clifford family who migrated to Tasmania in 1853. Daniel, his wife Jane and their children Ellen Jane and James sailed to Hobart on the "Northumberland".  Their two older sons William and Samuel had earlier sailed to Hobart on the "Windemere" in 1848.  William became a sea captain in New Zealand and Samuel a well known photographer in Hobart.  I believe that Daniel and Jane also had a son Alexander and a daughter Margaret who travelled to Port Adelaide on the "Constance" in 1850.  I have found a birth record for a son Alex Clifford to a Daniel Clifford at Kilrea and the age fits.  All of the Cliffords above list their native place as Londonderry.  I am specifically seeking information that confirms Margaret Clifford as the daughter of Daniel and Jane Clifford.  I have exhausted every possible avenue in Australia to confirm this although there is considerable evidence that points to Margaret being their daughter.  I would greatly appreciate any help.  I must add that Margaret was born in 1835.  Daniel Clifford was a member of the Irish Constabulary also.  Thanks

Offline akanex2

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.natio
    • View Profile
Re: CLIFFORDS of Londonderry
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 23 September 12 15:35 BST (UK) »