Author Topic: I am so lost!  (Read 4530 times)

Offline barbaramc

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
I am so lost!
« on: Wednesday 03 October 12 03:14 BST (UK) »
Hi, I'm new to all this, but found Roman Catholic ancestors James and Mary Anne Gregg in the 1901 and 1911 censuses.  They are listed as residents of a house 13 in Garrowhill (Drumlish, Longford) (1911)

Knowing that I needed to know the townlands etc, I found that they were in townland of Longford, Town of Drumlis, Civil parish of Longford and PLU of Killoe. (Wikipedia)

Now it seems I need the Catholic parishes to pursue any further, but I am sort of at my wits end and cannot find any resource, that makes sense to me, listing the religious parishes. 

Can anyone help?
Cullen
Gregg
McAuliffe
Salat
Cotter

Offline Katharine75

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: I am so lost!
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 03 October 12 05:37 BST (UK) »
This might help you:

http://www.irishtimes.com/ancestor/browse/counties/rcmaps/longfordrc.htm

Is it the town of Drumlish, rather than Drumlis?

Offline shanew147

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Dublin, Ireland
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 03 October 12 08:39 BST (UK) »
census links for reference :

Gregg household - 1911
  Gregg household - 1901

The family are living in the townland of Garrowhill, which is in the electoral district of Drumlish. The civil parish for this area is Clongesh.

see also :

Introduction to Irish Records
   My Ancestor came from Ireland - where do I start?

Shane
Remember to check the Resource boards :  Ireland, Dublin, Antrim & Cork (and stickies at the top of other county sub-forums)    
My Surname Interests

Offline Elwyn Soutter

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Wednesday 03 October 12 10:04 BST (UK) »