Author Topic: Denman One Name Study & DNA Project  (Read 1616 times)

Offline lizjones

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Denman One Name Study & DNA Project
« on: Wednesday 02 January 13 14:54 GMT (UK) »
My name is Liz Jones and I have started a Denman One Name Study and associated DNA Project at Family Tree DNA. I have been researching the history of the Denman surname since 1999.  Through my research I have become very interested in the history of the Denman name and its origins, as well as tracing my own Denman line.

A Surname Project traces members of a family that share a common surname. The project is just getting started, and we expect to have many exciting discoveries. Participating is an opportunity to
uncover information not provided in the paper records, which will help with your family history research. We will also discover which family trees are related. As the project progresses, the results for the various family trees will provide information about the evolution of the surname. Are all people with the surname Denman related? Where did the name originate? I can’t promise
you the answers to these questions but by contributing to the study we will all
learn more about the name.

Early indications are that there are at least two lines of origin of the Denman surname.

The Y DNA test tells you about your direct male line, which would be your father, his father, and back in time. You must be male to take this simple cheek swab test, and you should bear the
Denman surname, although if you believe there is a Denman or variant in your direct male line, despite having a different surname, you are also welcome to participate. If you are female, you will need to find a direct line male Denman in your family tree to take the test and represent your tree, such as your father, brother, uncle or cousin.