Author Topic: Greenock stowaways 1868 - abandoned barefoot on the ice fields of Newfoundland  (Read 13395 times)

Offline AbroadintheYard

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
The true story of 7 boys from Greenock, who stowed away in the ship 'Arran’ bound for Quebec in 1868.  On discovering the boys in the ship's hold, the captain and first mate subjected them to the most brutal treatment during the voyage, then put them ashore on the ice fields of Newfoundland and left them to their fate.

http://www.abroadintheyard.com/tragic-arran-stowaways-1868/

You may recognise some of the names and addresses of the time.

Offline PaulFamilyTree

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Thank you for posting this story.  John Paul was my Great Great Grandfather.  I have been researching my family tree on and off for about 7 years.   My father, was named after his Great Grandfather and used to tell us this true story when we were children.  It's such a sad tragic story but also one of such bravery and strength.  I am proud to be a descendant of John Paul. 

I would love to connect with any family members and I would also love to find more information on this story. If anyone has any information, please contact me. 

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Nancy

Offline Skoosh

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Nancy,  I read this a while back on the online archive of the Greenock Telegraph at the Watt Library.

http://www.inverclyde.gov.uk/education-and-learning/libraries/local-and-family-history/family-history/

Skoosh.

Offline PaulFamilyTree

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Hi Skoosh,