Author Topic: John A Merrin born about 1837  (Read 18494 times)

Offline Feliss

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
John A Merrin born about 1837
« on: Thursday 28 February 13 10:15 GMT (UK) »
I am in Australia and previously have only traced relatives back as far as the family member who arrived in Australia. This means I have no knowledge of how to go about searching for records in the UK or Ireland so I'd be very grateful for any help.

John A Merrin was born in or around 1837 in Waterford. He was Catholic and emigrated to NSW in 1856, I presume to make a better life for himself. The goldrush had started in NSW in 1851, resulting in an urgent need for more police officers and The Police Recruiting Act was passed in 1853 to allow police to be recruited from England, Scotland, Wales & Ireland. They were offered free passage in exchange for a minimum of 3 years service, with the first recruits arriving in 1855.

The recruits had to pay some kind of "deposit", I guess to guarantee that they would stay for the three years. John's deposit was paid by a Patrick Larkin(s) who may have been his maternal uncle.

I'd really like to know how to find John's birth certificate so I can find out more about his family.

Many thanks,

Felicity

Offline vasaborg

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
Re: John A Merrin born about 1837
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 28 February 13 11:54 GMT (UK) »
Waterford Heritage Centre at Jenkins Lane , Waterford City would be able to find the birth certificate.

Offline shanew147

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Dublin, Ireland
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 28 February 13 12:10 GMT (UK) »