Author Topic: Michael Cusack and Bridget Cusack  (Read 5217 times)

Offline Hyjean

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Michael Cusack and Bridget Cusack
« on: Thursday 06 June 13 10:02 BST (UK) »
Bridget Cusack

I have absolutely no idea even whether this is the right Bridget Cusack who is married to Michael.

I have been chasing a forebear in Tasmania for 10 years or so named Bridget Cassidy.

Yesterday I received news from Launceston that Bridget Cassidy was a widow and married to a
  ? Cusack. I have located the above named couple as departing Plymouth and arriving freely on the "Maitland" on 16/9/1854.

Can anyone please shed any light on this couple in Ireland? I know it is a tall order.

Cheers, Hyjean

Offline Hyjean

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
Re: Michael Cusack and Bridget Cusack
« Reply #1 on: Friday 07 June 13 01:50 BST (UK) »
Have been racking my brains overnight and recall family myth/legend placed Bridget from Co Cork.

Unsure of course! My great uncle on his mother's death certificate as the informant had written his grandmother's maiden name as Bridget O'Rourke. This may or may not be a red herring but throwing it into the mix.

So the question relevant to this not reliable info  is did a Bridget O'Rourke from Co Cork marry a Cusack?

Cheers, Hyjean

Offline shanew147

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Dublin, Ireland
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 07 June 13 08:19 BST (UK) »
You would need a bit more detail to even start a search for any marriage - e.g. did it take place in England (Plymouth was mentioned) or Ireland - which parish, timeframe etc ?

Any marriage would have been well before the start of civil records in Ireland (assuming your O'Rourkes were RC), so you would need to know a fairly detailed location to check if any records were available .. there are over a hundred parishes just in Co. Cork