Author Topic: Lost Andersons of Moray  (Read 11903 times)

Offline ValmaiOwens

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Lost Andersons of Moray
« on: Monday 10 June 13 21:46 BST (UK) »
Hi,

I'm just new to RootsChat, but I have researching my family ancestry for quite some time on Ancestry.com. While I have a lot of information on certain Anderson family members, I have hit the proverbial brick wall with four of my great uncles, and I'm hoping some one here might be able to help. I apologize in advance for this long post.

Let me give some background first. My 3rd great grandfather was Alexander Anderson, born 27/7/1796 at Drainie, Moray. He married Margaret McIntyre born 19/10/1803, at Forres. They had 8 children that I know of, 6 boys and 2 girls. Their 3rd son was baptized Alex John Anderson, but in any census records I have found the name Alex has been dropped and he is listed merely as John Anderson born 6/3/1837, Drainie. John Anderson was my 2nd great grandfather. He married Isabella Stalker McArthur, (another brick wall) and they in turn had 7 children that I know of, one being another John Anderson born 17/9/1861, Elgin. John is my 1st great grandfather. He married Christina Paul, born 6/9/1862, Auldearn, Nairnshire.

John and Christina married in 1882 at Broadshaw, Auldearn, but it appears John may have had an illegitimate daughter in 1881 named Isabella Stalker Anderson (I have yet to confirm that) John and Christina had 4 sons. William Anderson born 1883, Elgin, John Anderson (my grand father) born 1885, Rothes, James Anderson born 1887, Alves, and Alexander Anderson born 1889, at Rafford. Christina died the same year as Alex was born due to complications with the birth.