Author Topic: Where did my nan get her name "Silcock" and her sister "Flood"  (Read 4250 times)

Offline misstrace07

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Where did my nan get her name "Silcock" and her sister "Flood"
« on: Tuesday 30 July 13 07:16 BST (UK) »
Hi everyone

My nan is from Falkirk and ancestors mostly from Stirlingshire.  She and her mother have the middle name "Silcock" and my great-grandmother's sister has the middle name "Flood."

Annie Silcock Lonie (nee Nicol) born: 22 March 1889
parents: James Nicol born abt 1856, Agnes Davie born 25 March 1855
sister: Agnes Flood Nicol
daughter: Annie Silcock Lonie born: 20 August 1920

While I have found records of Floods and Silcocks in neighbouring areas, I haven't yet found any linkage as I know most people received middle names of relatives.

Would anyone be able to recommend how I might start searching for this information as I'm quite new to family research.

Or do you know of the Silcocks and Floods and how my grandmother might be related?!

Thank you
MissTrace

Offline GR2

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Where did my nan get her name "Silcock" and her sister "Flood"
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 30 July 13 08:08 BST (UK) »
It is quite common to find children called after folk who are not relatives. Possibilities are friends, neighbours, employers, the minister or schoolmaster .....

In 18th century Gamrie, the name Bathia appears for girls - it was the name of the minister's wife.
In early 19th century Aberdour (the Aberdeenshire one), Samuel became popular - it was the name of the schoolmaster.
In early 19th century Lonmay the minister was William Cock - a considerable number of boys received that name.
My grandmother had an aunt called Harriet Cumine Thom - it was the name of her father's employer's wife.

So the Silcocks and Floods may not be related.

Offline Forfarian

• RootsChat Marquessate