Author Topic: how can I find a relative who seems to have disappeared ...  (Read 2543 times)

Offline howengold

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
how can I find a relative who seems to have disappeared ...
« on: Monday 14 October 13 20:52 BST (UK) »
Basically I have been tracing my husbands family tree for a few years, I had done mine as far back as the 1700's on both sides but I thought I would grant his fathers dying wish and find their family history. 

I had very little to go by as I started just before he died and we found it hard to get information out of him as he knew the information but chose to keep it to himself even though he asked me to find his brothers and niece.

We before he died I got his mother and fathers wedding certificate and we managed to find his birth certificate (he never told us his year of birth so it was all my digging that came to fruition).

I have had brief contact with his niece who confirmed my husbands granddad had died before my father-in-law was born and she lived with my father-in-law, his mum and brother with her own parents.

The trouble is I can't find any records of his dads death anywhere.  I have tried just his surname and both first names that we have on official documents but nothing comes up.

So I am looking for Alfred or Arthur Caddick (Arthur on his marriage certificate and Afred on my father-in-laws birth certificate and his wifes death certificate).

Here is the information I have

Arthur/Alfred Caddick born Staffordshire in 1893, married to Doris Hammersley in 1921, he died before the birth of his son John Charles Caddick in 1937 but no info on his death available. He had at least three children, John, Thomas and Doris E (who later married and became Doris E Smith and her daughter has the same name).  His profession was wheelwright and at the time of his marriage they lived in Bilston near Wolverhampton.