Author Topic: Blackmore/Redman/Painter  (Read 4213 times)

Offline Helen Blackmore-Lee

• RootsChat Pioneer
    • View Profile
Blackmore/Redman/Painter
« on: Thursday 06 March 14 05:31 GMT (UK) »
I'm new to this and already having trouble locating information on my fathers family. Mainly living in Bosham, West Sussex. The Painters I am looking for apparently worked for the Cheesmans as housekeeper and gardener in the early 1900's. The Blackmore side of things were in connection to the Lockyers of Westbourne. Any information on the Redmans would be good too. I do remember my great, great uncle George who was the blacksmith at the forge in Walton Lane. He was my great grandma's brother.

I now live in Australia and it's difficult to get this info on a low budget!

Look forward to any information you can give me.

Thanks,

Helen Blackmore-Lee

Online KGarrad

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Blackmore/Redman/Painter
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 06 March 14 06:03 GMT (UK) »
Welcome to RootsChat! ;D

Without specific names and dates, this is going to be difficult?

For example, in the 1901 census, there are 68 Painters living in Sussex! None living in Bosham.
In the same census there are 362 Redmans in Sussex; 33 of them in Westbourne.
In the same census, there are 132 Blackmores - 10 of them in Westbourne.

John (1843) and Mary (1848), with son John (1882).
George (1852) and Sarah (1849), with children George (1880), Ralph (1882), Claude (1884), Winifred (1885) and Augustus (1889).

What surname was George, and in what town was Wood Lane?
Garrad (Suffolk, Essex, Somerset), Crocker (Somerset), Vanstone (Devon, Jersey), Sims (Wiltshire), Bridger (Kent)

Offline Art1942

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Saturday 13 September 14 17:55 BST (UK) »
Hi.
     Have searched Marriages for Westbourne from 1550-1901 & these are the only Redmans that appear in the Marriages.