Author Topic: Ocky Davies, boxer  (Read 6420 times)

Offline Garethboxing

• --
  • RootsChat Veteran
  • Grampy Wyndham Jones (Wales v Ireland 1905)
    • View Profile
Ocky Davies, boxer
« on: Sunday 29 June 14 15:39 BST (UK) »
Hi,
     I'm trying to discover some background regarding Ocky Davies, from Haverfordwest, who boxed professionally in the 1920s and 1930s. He claimed on his licence application (Nov 1932) to be 22. I believe his real name was William David and in 1930 he was living at West Hill Farm, Steynton, Milford Haven.
     He was apparently a milkman by trade. Was the name Ocky traditionally given to milkmen - I'm thinking of "Ocky Milkman" in Dylan Thomas's 'Under Milk Wood'  :D - or was it short for something?
     Can anyone help?
        Regards, Gareth

Scott, Dowdeswell (Merthyr Tydfil), Jones (Loughor and Merthyr Vale), Roberts (Nelson), Prichard (Collenna and Cefn Fforest); Evan Roberts (Corwen and Amlwch); Scott (Pentre); Scott (Ancrum); Thomas (Pantywaun and Bedlinog); Morgan Jones (Ystradfellte); Bowen (Loughor); Jenkins (Bridgend); Thomas Dowdeswell (b. Gloucester, 1829).

Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline Priscilla

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: Ocky Davies, boxer
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 29 June 14 15:54 BST (UK) »
Have you looked at this website ... ?
http://www.boxinghistory.org.uk/dlist.html
Eccles (Hoylake / Exeter / Plymouth)
Hicks (Devonport, Plymouth)
Grafton (Exeter, Devon)
Harris (Marazion, Cornwall)
Collard (Yeovil, Somerset)
Johns (Devonport, Plymouth)
Lyle (Bude, Cornwall)

Offline Garethboxing

• --
  • RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 29 June 14 16:52 BST (UK) »
Thanks, Priscilla, I know a fair bit about the actual boxing. It's his life outside the ring where I need to fill in a few gaps - where and when was he born? where and when did he die? Was William David indeed his real name? And, particularly, why Ocky?  ;D