Author Topic: griffin family  (Read 832 times)

Offline rosecreek

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
griffin family
« on: Thursday 30 June 05 19:29 BST (UK) »
My family settled in KY. My grandfather   was a Griffin and his family came from Ireland,  I have no idea where, I have heard discussions about a Griffin castle
The family may have been from Limerick,  my grandmother was a Robards, I am not sure if they were Irish or Scottish,  I believe formerly they we know as McRobards.   As anyone can see I am a novice at this but since I know they came to America from Ireland, thought this was a good beginning. duh/
Thanks to anyone who can give me a clue where to start.

Offline Arranroots

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: griffin family
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 30 June 05 19:36 BST (UK) »
Hi rosecreek and welcome to Rootschat  :)

The first thing you need to do is verify the information you have from any living relatives.

Are there any certificates in existence that would help you go back further?

Have a read of the Beginners Board.

Think about posting in Emigrants for those relatives you believe left Ireland or Scotland for the USA.  I believe you can search ports of entry, but someone on that board will know.  Try to get a good idea of the names and an approximate date of arrival.

Don't be afraid to ask questions, that is how we all learn!

kind regards, Arranroots  ;)
Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
SOM: BIRD, BURT aka BROWN - HEF: BAUGH, LATHAM, CARTER, PRITCHARD - GLS: WEBB, WORKMAN, LATHAM, MALPUS - WIL: WEBB, SALTER - RAD: PRITCHARD, WILLIAMS - GLA: RYAN, KEARNEY, JONES, HARRY - MON: WEBB, MORGAN, WILLIAMS, JONES, BIRD - SCOTLAND: HASTINGS, CAMERON, KELSO, BUCHANAN, BETHUNE/ BEATON - IRELAND: RYAN (WATERFORD), KEARNEY (DUBLIN), BOYLE(DUNDALK)

Offline audrey

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile