Author Topic: searching for the family Crottey Whelen  (Read 7962 times)

Offline rinnan

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
searching for the family Crottey Whelen
« on: Saturday 03 January 15 19:37 GMT (UK) »
I am trying to find more information about the family Grotty Whelan from ballingrane shannacarry cork. I have only been able to go back to the birth of Hannan Grottey 1888. But then I hit a dead end. As for Whelan. David Whelen 1885 was the son of Robert Whelan  (1860 - 1920 and Alice johnson ( 1860 - 1885 ) but then there also a dead end.
I am not really a novice , I have been able to find my family back ( Norway ) to 1500 but this is my husbands line. Hopefully I can get more leads here . Thank you all for any help. If anyone needs help on Norway, just let me know . I have so many resources from Norway. kind regards Louisa

Offline aghadowey

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: searching for the family Crottey Whelen
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 03 January 15 20:31 GMT (UK) »
I don't know that area very well but am struggling to find this place in Cork- closest I've come are townlands called Ballingarrane and Shanagarry in Kilmahon civil parish (Middleton P.L.U./registration district).

I did find this David Whelan in the 1901 census with Johnson grandparents who seems to be the right age-
www.census.nationalarchives.ie/pages/1901/Cork/Queenstown_Urban/Bishop_Street/1163019

Johnson family in 1911-
www.census.nationalarchives.ie/pages/1911/Cork/Queenstown_No__2_Urban/Bishop_Street/406620
Away sorting out DNA matches... I may be gone for some time many years!

Offline aghadowey

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Saturday 03 January 15 20:54 GMT (UK) »
Wonder if this is Hannah Crotty (not Hannan Grotty as in original post)-
www.census.nationalarchives.ie/pages/1901/Cork/Queenstown_Urban/Harbour_View/1163433