Author Topic: Walcot Estate 1840-1877  (Read 1913 times)

Offline BirdyBond

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Walcot Estate 1840-1877
« on: Thursday 15 January 15 08:40 GMT (UK) »
Hi  - I am new to RootsChat.com and have been recommended to post my query here on the Shropshire forum. So hi!
I am after some information on Walcot Estate and employees if possible. I believe my great great great grandfather George Bond (b.@1807 (Chelsea) was a Gardner at Walcot Estate @1841-1877. Interested in finding out what the estate was and who owned and his life on this estate and I guess to confirm if he did actually work there! I do have some information on his personal life ie: wife/children etc but not his parents. Thanks in advance from Australia.

Offline MaxD

• Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Walcot Estate 1840-1877
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 15 January 15 10:39 GMT (UK) »
The 1851, 1861 and 1871 censuses (taken as samples) do have George Bond as the gardener at Walcot (in 1861 listed as head).  The 1861 lists the members of the Powis family living there at the time, headed by the 3rd Earl of Powis with his mother, widow of the 2nd Earl and a host of others!  The family were descendants of Clive of India.  http://www.britainexpress.com/attractions.htm?attraction=3789e gives a bit of background.
Glad to help if you need any more but Wikipedia is quite good on the Herberts.
Rghds

MaxD
I am Zoe Northeast, granddaughter of Maximilian Double.

It is with great difficulty I share with you that in the early hours of 07 August 2021, Maximilian passed away unexpectedly but peacefully.

With deep sadness,
Zoe

Double  Essex/Suffolk
Randle/Millington Warwicks
Sokser/Klingler Austria/Croatia

Offline MaxD

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 15 January 15 16:33 GMT (UK) »
Here's a bit more.