Author Topic: Albert Edward Hillier b.1881 Marlborough, Wiltshire  (Read 3413 times)

Offline rutht22000

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Albert Edward Hillier b.1881 Marlborough, Wiltshire
« on: Saturday 17 January 15 16:00 GMT (UK) »
Can anyone help me unravel Albert?

He was registered born January 1881 and I have him getting married, aged 32 to 17 year old Charlotte Griffiths at St Catherine, Liverpool on 6 December 1913.   He was a Mariner by profession and the witnesses to the marriage provide no assistance at the moment.  Charlotte is my connection and her details are all correct so I know this is a correct marriage.

He gives his father as James Edward Northcote (not Hillier) a Brewer.

Going back on the census I can find him as follows:

1911 lodging with the Byrne family in Liverpool (RG14 22177)
1901 Royal Navy Crew member on board HMS Renown stationed in Malta (RG13 5332 10 11)
1891 as 'brother in law' to Ernest and Jane Northcott (Northcote?) in Marlborough and on this census Albert looks like he had as an older brother Charles (b.1879)

going back 10 years Charles and Albert are with their Hillier grandparents Stephen and Harriet (RG11 2038 105 13) with another youngster Emily Hillier (aged 3)

On the 1881 census there is also a Jane Hillier (aged 21) living with Stephen and Harriet and I believe she is the Jane Northcott 10 years later.  Certainly the relationships would fit and a Jane Hillier does marry an Ernest Bolt Northcott in 1883 in Marlborough.