Author Topic: Hello! New to researching Cheshire ancestors HOUGH family in and around Winsford  (Read 4359 times)

Offline JaneyH_104

• RootsChat Member
  • My great-grandmother, Alice
    • View Profile
Just thought I'd introduce myself to the Cheshire discussion board. 

I've been researching my family history properly for four years now, on and off - as much as I can, around a full-time job, husband and small child!  Up until now I've focused on my side of the family, but now I've decided to take a break from my lot and look instead at my husband's side.

Initially I'm concentrating on the HOUGH family in and around Winsford and Middlewich.  I have an Ancestry subscription and will be working my way through BMDs and Census records.  I note there is a Cheshire BMD website so I'll no doubt cross-reference to that regularly.  As far as I can see, the main commercial site with Cheshire parish records is FindMyPast, so I may have to do a short-term subscription to that at some point in the future.

In the meantime, if anyone else is researching Houghs, or has any tips for researching Cheshire ancestors, then please get in touch.  I'm still getting on top of the geography and place-names, but I'm sure I'll master these quickly enough (I've always loved geography!)
BOWDLER - Forest of Dean & Devon, DYSON, ENTWISTLE & TOWNEND - Huddersfield, CLARKE - Dorset, SCOBLE - Devon, HOUGH, COPE & WHITTAKER - Cheshire, BRACHER - Wiltshire, DENNISS - Herts/Hunts, SQUIRE - Hunts/Beds, BROWN - Herts/Beds

Offline wilcoxon

• -
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Barry Sheene 1950-2003
    • View Profile
Re: Hello! New to researching Cheshire ancestors HOUGH family in and around Winsford
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 25 February 15 22:24 GMT (UK) »
Depending on how far back you have gone there are Hough wills in Middlewich dating back to 1673.

http://archives.cheshire.gov.uk/family-history/family-history.aspx

Wills and Probate.