Author Topic: Max chars limit (5500). My current draft is around 12000... Any pointers please?  (Read 3108 times)

Offline JeremyWilshere

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Hello...

I have been working for days on what I was hoping would be my first post to the WW1 sub-forum. My draft is currently at around 12000 chars. the limit is apparently 5500 chars. Should I break my post into 4- say (I have 4 Header1 type sections in my original GoogleDocs draft...)? Will I be able to post 3 sections as replies to my first post?

Oh, I see an opportunity to practise some Bulletin Board Code syntax  ::). Here's my proposed  structure (assuming that the 5500 upper bound is strictly enforced):
  • s1
  • s2 as reply to s1
  • s3 as reply to s1
  • s4 as reply to s1
As a newbie, I am not able to message WW1 forum mods millymcb + scrimnet to ask them directly...

Or alternatively should I all hope abandon?

Many thanks for any suggestions...
Jeremy

Offline JeremyWilshere

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Re: Max chars limit (5500). My current draft is around 12000... Any pointers please?
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 02 April 15 17:39 BST (UK) »
Duh
should have posted in
"How to Use RootsChat (Please don't post requests here)"
Oh well...

Offline Berlin-Bob

• Caretaker
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Max chars limit (5500). My current draft is around 12000... Any pointers please?
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 02 April 15 17:41 BST (UK) »
Hi Jeremy,

Welcome to RootsChat :)

12000 characters sounds like you want to tell a story. Even 5500 characters are more than enough for the usual queries.

It's better to start off with just enough facts to give the background for your query.

regards,
Bob

ps I've moved your post to the "How to use ..." board :)
Any UK Census Data included in this post is Crown Copyright (see: www.nationalarchives.gov.uk)

Offline km1971

• RootsChat Marquessate