Author Topic: W. Clover 1901 Death  (Read 5238 times)

Offline geoff_43

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Grandad's Night Out
    • View Profile
W. Clover 1901 Death
« on: Saturday 04 April 15 09:56 BST (UK) »
Hi,

I am new to South Africa research and need some help/guidance please.

Private W. Clover No. 5413 Essex Regiment was killed 16 Nov 1901 Swazi border.

This appears to be his entire records here in the UK, but a recent discovery suggests he may have been Walter Clover, my Great Uncle.

Where would I begin to research this further? Even an M.I. would help. If anyone can suggest any sources I would be very grateful, as I appear to have exhausted all the UK ones.

Thank you

Ruffle - Essex/Suffolk
Nelson - Westmorland
Worsfold - Sussex
Clover - Essex

Offline Nookie

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: W. Clover 1901 Death
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 04 April 15 16:19 BST (UK) »
Welcome to research in South Africa!

On the angloboerwar website I found a Walter Clover but he was with the South African Constabulary.  Using the no 5413 I found it allocated to a number of people but no one from the Essex regiment or anyone with the name of Clover.  On the eggsa site which has photographed many gravestones I could not find a Clover who died in 1901.

I have noticed that many towns in England seem to have Boer War memorials.  Have you checked the town in which he grew up or was recruited from?  Quite possibly they would have his name recorded on the memorial.

I have a book on the Boer War in the Eastern Transvaal.  It does not show any battles round 16 November in the area, but I shall look through all the towns closest to the Swazi border just in case. 
Fulton-Ireland
Barber
Woods

Offline Nookie

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Saturday 04 April 15 16:41 BST (UK) »