Author Topic: James Smith, b. 1837 Gilford  (Read 2384 times)

Offline joemc

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
James Smith, b. 1837 Gilford
« on: Sunday 03 May 15 12:51 BST (UK) »
Hello,

This is a long shot as I have little information to go on and I know that Smith is a common name but hoping someone may make a connection.

James Smith was born approx. 1837, Gilford, Co. Down, he emigrated to Boston in the early 1860's and was employed as a carpenter in the Pickering piano factory, Boston, where he met his future wife, Margaret McCorkell a native of Donegal, they followed the gold rush to California and married there in 1862, they eventually followed the gold trial up to Canada were he was involved in the Cariboo gold rush in the mid 1860's, they eventually settled in Victoria, Vancouver Island. He was  Presbyterian CoI. I have no knowledge of his parentage, not given on marriage or death certs. He died in Canada in 1922.

He christened his first son William James

I have all subsequent family records for James and have an extensive tree for Margaret but I am keen to expand on James background, family connections etc.

Regards
McCorkell, Clarke, Williams, Craig, Baird, Peoples, MacDonald, Wray and associated families, Counties Donegal and Londonderry, Ireland and America

Offline aghadowey

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: James Smith, b. 1837 Gilford
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 03 May 15 13:24 BST (UK) »
His death certificate doesn't list his parents' names (informant wasn't a relative) but I'm a bit puzzled why you say "born approx. 1837" when the certificate says 9 Apr.1837. This date may help you locate a baptism in Co. Down.
https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:FLGG-Q46

http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~rosdavies/PHOTOSwords/TullylishAll.htm
Away sorting out DNA matches... I may be gone for some time many years!

Offline joemc