Author Topic: Thomas Seal married Elizabeth Esther Alice ?  (Read 6322 times)

Offline tamatitom

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Thomas Seal married Elizabeth Esther Alice ?
« on: Wednesday 13 May 15 03:25 BST (UK) »
Hi I am looking for my GG Grandmother Elizabeth Esther Alice Seal born circa 1845 St Helier Jersey Channel Islands. Her Husband was Thomas Seal born circa 1841 in Tipperary Ireland. In the England Wales census 1871 they were living on Portsea Island Hampshire. They had 3 children ranging from 4yrs to just born. The five of them Emigrated to New Zealand in 1873 on the SS Dover Castle and settled in the Otago area.
I am only new at this and am not sure if this is possible or not please let me know either way thanks.
Regards

Online crisane

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Thomas Seal married Elizabeth Esther Alice ?
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 13 May 15 05:09 BST (UK) »
Hello and welcome to Rootschat  :)
The best way to find out the maiden name of your gg grandmother is to purchase one of the children's birth certificates. I say to buy the birth cert because I can't find a marriage record for a Thomas Seal to an Elizabeth Esther A or H. (it looks like an H in the 1871 census.
I also can't find a birth of an Elizabeth Selina Seal on FreeBMD on Portsea (as per the 1871 census)  I can only see a birth reg for an Elizabeth Selina Sparkes. However there is a birth registration for John Seal September 1/4 1868  Portsea  vol 2b page 441
Also for Thomas William Seal September 1/4 1870 Portsea vol 2b page 385.
You can order certificates from the GRO online https://www.gro.gov.uk/gro/content/certificates/default.asp

In the 1871 census both Thomas and Elizabeth are age 22 making their births c 1849. Do you have other documents giving different birth dates?

Offline trish1120

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Happy me
    • View Profile