Author Topic: Carruth Brick Wall  (Read 6284 times)

Offline Johncarruth

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Carruth Brick Wall
« on: Thursday 14 May 15 19:51 BST (UK) »
Can anyone help me to trace my Ancestor ,Alexander  Carruth, a Cooper by trade living on Causeyside in Paisley. He disappears from the records of Paisley & Scotland ,some  time between the birth of his daughter Christina in 1852 when he was aged about 31 years of age and the 1861 Census when his wife, Helen (or Ellen) is shown as Head of Household and Christina is not shown. Did he, like a lot of  Paisley working men, leave Paisley &Scotland to search for work in other Lands? Does anyone if there are any details listed of men who took ship from West of Scotland ports to Canada, U.S.A. or Australasia between 1852 and 1861 ?
I also have another Brick wall concerning Alexander Carruth which is that, the 1841  Census gives his age as  20, the same as his wife, but I can find no O.P.R entry for his birth around 1818/1822. There is a family in Paisley that may well be his parents (William & Agnes Carruth) but I cannot make the link without an O.P.R. birth entry showing his parents. Does anyone know of any missing Parish records for Paisley Abbey Ward for the period 1818/1822 ?

Offline MonicaL

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Girl with firewood, Morar 1910 - MEM Donaldson
    • View Profile
Re: Carruth Brick Wall
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 14 May 15 21:11 BST (UK) »
Hi John

Welcome to RootsChat  :)

First of all, the easy one! The 1841 census is the most limited in terms of information. The enumerators were instructed to record the ages of those over 15 years the nearest 5 years. Children under 15 years were supposed to show with their actual age. Overall, ages in 1841 are the most unrealiable overall (and census ages are a very often unreliable in general unfortunately).