Author Topic: Looking for birth certificate of my mom  (Read 8270 times)

Offline Adiroit

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Looking for birth certificate of my mom
« on: Wednesday 27 May 15 00:29 BST (UK) »
Hello there, my name is Paul and I live in the US (and have since the age of 2). My mom passed away when I was just 5, as did my father. I was taken in by a wonderful family, however I have very little knowledge about my parents.

I'm here attempting to apply for my first British Passport. It would appear that I need a copy of my mom's birth certificate, but I can't seem to find much information online (correct information anyway) that would help me.

Her name is Kathleen Fraser McMahon (at birth).. and she was Kathleen Kenney when she married my dad. I believe she was born in 1961, or 1962, but it could be off by a year or so.

On my birth certificate (I was born in England).. it says her place of birth was "Dalkeith, Midlothian". I can't find much information about specific hospitals that would have maybe been open back then.

Any help would be SUPER appreciated. The only documents I have: My birth certificate (tiny one, looks original. Doesn't have my parents info on it but has my NHS number as well as someone named Sanda V. Caudy (Coudy? something like that) who apparently is/was a registrar of births and deaths. I have a larger copy of my birth certificate (Certified Copy) that lists my mom and dads information (place of birth). I have my NHS medical card, and my US passport which states "Place of Birth - United Kingdom".

I could be wrong in this next statement, but..

I believe that those documents which I have, as well as a copy of my mom's birth certificate (again, Dalkeith, Midlothian around 1961.. Kathleen Fraser McMahon) would be enough for me to obtain my UK passport.

Correct me if I'm completely wrong in my final statement, but I'm crossing my fingers it is.