Author Topic: What website for Irish Family History Research?  (Read 5412 times)

Offline dptb

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
What website for Irish Family History Research?
« on: Tuesday 14 July 15 17:27 BST (UK) »
Hi

I am doing a lot of research in Ireland, as both sides of my family came from there originally.  I just thought Id ask if anyone has any preference for the choice of companies best suited for Ireland, Ancestry, Rootsireland etc.  I have a subscription with Ancestry at the moment but it does not cover Ireland unless you take out the worldwide subscription.  I am prepared to do that but thought I would get opinions from yourselves first about alternatives.

Has anyone any thoughts  ?

Diane

Moderator Comment: Title updated.

Offline myluck!

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: RESEARCH
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 14 July 15 20:01 BST (UK) »
Free to search are www.irishgenealogy.ie which now has civil records and is quite good; it only has limited baptism records

The newly created register of microfilmed parish records are at http://registers.nli.ie/
These are really helpful but a tedious slog through; also you have to know exactly where you need to look and the approx. time scale

For more this is a link to a comprehensive list of sites available

I have found that you need a combination of paid sites to supplement these -

findmypast.ie isn't great for marriages as once you enter a possible maiden name it doesn't seem to give any results but is great for prison and institution records which can yield great information from Police, victims, perpetrators, next-of-kin, etc.