Author Topic: Questions about FTDNA Family Finder test and uploading the tree.  (Read 1483 times)

Offline hurworth

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Questions about FTDNA Family Finder test and uploading the tree.
« on: Friday 31 July 15 23:13 BST (UK) »
Hello,

I am new to this.  We are hoping to find an unknown father from a few generations ago.

I purchased the kit for the relative and had it sent to me.   But it's not my DNA.

I'm happy to have a limited tree available to matches on FtDNA, but the system seems to think that this kit is MY DNA, not someone else's.  Will it muck anything up if I change the name to the relative's name on the website?   When I went to do it it came up with some warning about it not beng advisable to change contact details. 

Perhaps there is somewhere on the website where you can have the details of the person managing the kit (me) and separate from that the family tree of the person whose DNA was tested.

Potentially (no results back yet) there are already three matches as there are trees for someone related to three out of the four grandparents of this person which is good.

If anyone can explain this to me I would be grateful.

Offline davidft

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Questions about FTDNA Family Finder test and uploading the tree.
« Reply #1 on: Friday 31 July 15 23:30 BST (UK) »
If I read it right what you say is

1. You have an account in your name, person A
2. You have used the account to test a relative, person B
3. The tree is labelled as Person A's tree but is in fact person B's tree
4. The contact details are for person A although it is not their data

and you want to change it so that

5. The account now reads as person B's
6. The DNA tested is person B's
7. The tree is person B's
but
8. The contact details will still be person A's