Author Topic: Thomas JACOB New Ross, 1850 - manslaughter  (Read 1227 times)

Offline Liz_in_Sussex

• RootsChat Veteran
  • "We wunt be druv."
    • View Profile
Thomas JACOB New Ross, 1850 - manslaughter
« on: Saturday 24 October 15 20:33 BST (UK) »
Hi,

I have no experience of Irish research beyond the 1901 census but am looking at my nephew's paternal line and have found a prison record on FamilySearch for what might be his 4xG Grandfather.  Certainly the name and area is correct.

Thomas JACOB - New Ross, Wexford, 1850, prisoner, manslaughter  :'(

I have tried looking for more information e.g. his age, occupation, the victim etc.  The British Newspaper Archive doesn't appear to have anything about it, nor does Ireland Old News and I have tried Google but am not sure where else accounts of such a crime might appear.  Presumably as it was manslaughter he was unlikely to have received the death penalty?  There is a possible death for "our" Thomas in 1864.

Thank you,

Liz  :)

PS I have not put this in Wexford because it is more a general plea for advice about Irish research - but moderators, please move it if appropriate.  Thank you
Research interests:
Sussex (Isted, Trusler, Pullen, Botting), Surrey (Isted), Shropshire (Hayward), Lincolnshire (Brown, Richardson), Wiltshire (Bailey), Schleswig-Holstein (Isted),  Nordrhein-Westfalen (Niessen).

Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline hallmark

• ~
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Thomas JACOB New Ross, 1850 - manslaughter
« Reply #2 on: Saturday 24 October 15 20:49 BST (UK) »
Hi,

I have no experience of Irish research beyond the 1901 census but am looking at my nephew's paternal line and have found a prison record on FamilySearch for what might be his 4xG Grandfather.  Certainly the name and area is correct.

Thomas JACOB - New Ross, Wexford, 1850, prisoner, manslaughter  :'(