Author Topic: Poor state of Donegal/Ireland records  (Read 1261 times)

Offline mike1979

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Poor state of Donegal/Ireland records
« on: Tuesday 27 October 15 03:52 GMT (UK) »
Hi All
Interested in thoughts on the poor state of Irish (my family is mostly from Donegal) records in general.  And hopefully tell me if I'm missing anything!
Obviously the fire burning all the C19th census returns didnt help but church records for my family only go back to the mid C19th and are pretty sketchy even then.  There dont seem to be many other records which help much.
I also have family from Germany and have excellent church records going back to the C17th naming parents and occupations etc.  In addition to this there are town council records, wills, military service records etc.
I'm not an expert but is it that Ireland (and particularly Donegal) was a bit of a frontier (even the Romans didnt get that far!), generally opposed to officialdom given British occupation, lower literacy levels etc so just didnt keep the same comprehensive records?
I wonder if there are any rich sources of records which have not yet been digitilised which we can look forward to?
Would be interested to hear your thoughts.
M

Offline Sinann

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Poor state of Donegal/Ireland records
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 27 October 15 07:53 GMT (UK) »
Have you heard about the Penal Laws?
Look into it a bit and it will explain to some extent why Roman Catholics don't feature much in records and why early RC records weren't kept.
http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~donegal/penalcode.htm
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Penal_Laws_(Ireland)#Gradual_reform_and_emancipation_1778.E2.80.931869