Author Topic: 1653 preamble of the will of my 10x great grandfather John Butter  (Read 6412 times)

Offline okkool

• RootsChat Senior
  • Canadian by attitude
    • View Profile
1653 preamble of the will of my 10x great grandfather John Butter
« on: Saturday 28 November 15 05:08 GMT (UK) »
Hello

This is my first attempt at transcription. This will is 2 pages long and the first quarter of page one is this preamble. I am hoping that with a good transcription I will have enough points of comparison to complete the "meat" of the will. After a week of work this the transcription I have. Any help will be appreciated

Brian

In the Name of God Amen
I John Butter of Cheswardine in the countie of Salop yeoman being soro sisilish with sickucfious yett in profert mind and iminionisbbefsch -- this last will firoiring that the times of man's life for all thir best is sonorr Juiurcy much more intion this Lorbe friend is upon them upon theren and considerings that it is the __tie of all men, much more of Christian men to sell their  housed in  ----- -- ---- critfeiy yoe  honre  not more :Labing  by the grace of God endoab ---- make my prare with the Lorde and all this worlds  ----and or ordaine ------ last will and testament in ---- and f--- following J--p-innis ----- and bequeath my spirit soul e Allmightie God my Creator who yaroe ill --- trusting to boe saved by this suarrillo of his sonne my Lorde and Saviour and my bodie to the ground from where itt was jafon to be dorentlie lie interred att the discretion of my Executor's in hope of a ivyfull resurrection to eternal life And as for my worldly goods I here dispose of them as follows

People will not look forward to posterity, who never look backward to their ancestors. Edmund Burke 1729-1797

Offline pinefamily

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Big sister with baby brother
    • View Profile
Re: 1653 preamble of the will of my 10x great grandfather John Butter
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 28 November 15 09:23 GMT (UK) »