Author Topic: The Voluntary Aid Detachment (VAD)  (Read 2278 times)

Offline chr1st1an

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
The Voluntary Aid Detachment (VAD)
« on: Saturday 12 December 15 18:50 GMT (UK) »
Hi everyone!  :)

Searching through old photographs, I have found one of my great grandmother, I think serving as a V.A.D. nurse during World War I.

I would like some more information about these nurses, because it's a topic I have very little knowledge about, but I think it is most fascinating!

As soon as possible I will upload the picture.

All I can add now is that her name was Mrs. Mary Alice Lawton, and that she had her first two sons in Audenshaw (near Ashton, Lancashire) in 1910 and 1912 respectively, and three more sons (from 1916 to 1922) at Brierley (near Barnsley, Yorkshire). So I suppose she could have worked as a nurse in either town, during WWI.

Many thanks (in advance)!!!

Offline chr1st1an

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
Re: The Voluntary Aid Detachment (VAD)
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 12 December 15 19:17 GMT (UK) »
The picture in question...

Online KGarrad

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Garrad (Suffolk, Essex, Somerset), Crocker (Somerset), Vanstone (Devon, Jersey), Sims (Wiltshire), Bridger (Kent)

Offline groom

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Me aged 3. Tidied up thanks to Wiggy.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Saturday 12 December 15 20:42 GMT (UK) »
Are you sure it's in WW1, she doesn't seem to be dressed as most images of VADs show - they all have long sleeves?  It looks later to me, especially as she is wearing a watch and showing so much ankle!
Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline chr1st1an

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: Saturday 12 December 15 22:43 GMT (UK) »
No, I am not sure it was WWI. There is no date on the back of the picture. Could it be WWII?  :-\
How could we know?