Author Topic: Cheshire Wills from CRO for GEORGE POVALL Need help please  (Read 991 times)

Offline Beeonthebay

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Cheshire Wills from CRO for GEORGE POVALL Need help please
« on: Wednesday 13 January 16 18:49 GMT (UK) »
Hello I'm a bit confused and looking for some help on wills and probate type stuff in simple laymans terms  :)

Today on Ancestry on a hint for George POVALL who died in 1871 it threw up the probate record for 1872, I know you can get wills for £4 on the Cheshire Record Office site so off I went.  I couldn't find him in a search and also noted that the site said you could look at them for free on Find My Past for which I have a subscription, so I went to FindMyPast and couldn't find him on there either.

So then I went to the government site where they charge you £10 for a will and sure enough there he is.  This is not a direct ancestor of mine and I just wanted to buy it out of curiousity really.  I'd prefer it for FREE (FindMyPast) or £4 not £10.

His brother John who died in 1874 has his will on both the Cheshire site and FindMyPast (I bought it quite a few years ago) as I checked today.

What am I doing wrong?  Is it something to do with the type of will it is? 
Williams, Owens, Pritchard, Povall, Banks, Brown.

Offline DavidJP

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.natio
    • View Profile
Re: Cheshire Wills from CRO for GEORGE POVALL Need help please
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 13 January 16 19:28 GMT (UK) »
Hi Beeonthebay,

I Have taken a quick look on the government beta probate site here: https://probatesearch.service.gov.uk/Calendar?surname=Povall&yearOfDeath=1872&page=3#calendar