Author Topic: Haggart/Christie, Missing Father  (Read 4087 times)

Offline MonyAMickle

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Haggart/Christie, Missing Father
« on: Monday 14 March 16 22:54 GMT (UK) »
Hello,

I've been building my family tree for a few years now and my mother's side of the family has just exploded, I'm please to say.
However, I have great difficulty finding absolutely anything about my father's side of the family. Outside of people that we know personally, I can't find a single thing.
I have wondered if this is potentially - at least in part - down to the fact that we have no idea who my grandfather's father is. He doesn't even know who his father is.

Essentially, what I was wondering is whether or not there would be a way of finding out?

(For context on the title, my grandfather's surname, as is my own, is Haggart. However, he got this surname from the man that his mother, my great grandmother, was involved with at the time. I have no knowledge over whether they married. I know, due to some document troubles that my grandfather was having, that he was originally given the surname Christie, which is his mother's maiden name.)

I have vague knowledge of my grandfather's siblings and that we, as a family, are from Aberdeenshire/Morayshire, though I'm not sure how far back that goes or even if that is true of his generation.

Sorry if this is awkwardly worded or I've broken any guidelines.
Any advice?

Carson

Offline Rosinish

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • PASSED & PAST
    • View Profile
Re: Haggart/Christie, Missing Father
« Reply #1 on: Monday 14 March 16 23:06 GMT (UK) »
Hi Carson,

Is it possible you could post all you know with names/dates/areas to give us an idea of where to begin please?

Do you have your g/parents marriage cert?

If so, can you post what info. is on it please (assuming both are deceased)?

Annie
South Uist, Inverness-shire, Scotland:- Bowie, Campbell, Cumming, Currie