Author Topic: Trying to trace Martha wife of William Smith b:1874  (Read 3487 times)

Offline LambFran

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Trying to trace Martha wife of William Smith b:1874
« on: Friday 01 April 16 02:09 BST (UK) »
Hi, I'm new to RootsChat but have been researching family tree for a few years. Have hit a brick wall! I have a William Smith b:1874 Bristol and know his wife was Martha. They both died (1940's) in Stonehouse, Glos  but other than that can not trace her at all. I am not entirely sure but I think William Smith may possibly be a son of Gildroy Smith b:1837 Leonard Stanley, Glos. Gildroy & his wife Eve (nee Stephens) are on 1881 Census with a son William aged 7. Can anyone help with information that might discover identity of Martha (married William Smith abt 1896) or anything to confirm if William Smith is Gildroy's son? (William & Martha travelled Glos,Wilts,Surrey areas). Thanks  :)
Lamb Travelled Surrey, Berkshire, Hampshire & Middlesex areas finally settling 1950s Hampshire/Berkshire boarder.
Smith Travelled Gloucestershire, Wiltshire, Somerset, Surrey & Hampshire.

Offline KGarrad

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Trying to trace Martha wife of William Smith b:1874
« Reply #1 on: Friday 01 April 16 08:22 BST (UK) »
Welcome to RootsChat! ;D

This marriage looks to be a possibility?

September qtr 1896
Bath Registration District     vol 5c, page 961

Smith, William
+ and on the same page +
Green, Martha
Garrad (Suffolk, Essex, Somerset), Crocker (Somerset), Vanstone (Devon, Jersey), Sims (Wiltshire), Bridger (Kent)

Offline LambFran

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 01 April 16 10:59 BST (UK) »
Welcome to RootsChat! ;D

This marriage looks to be a possibility?

September qtr 1896
Bath Registration District     vol 5c, page 961

Smith, William
+ and on the same page +
Green, Martha

Hi, Thanks for getting back to me.