Author Topic: An ancestor having the last laugh...  (Read 7822 times)

Offline Geordie daughter

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
An ancestor having the last laugh...
« on: Saturday 23 April 16 20:05 BST (UK) »
I've been tracking down my Newton ancestors in London for many years now, and had got them back to one Charles Newton and his wife Hannah who were in Ward's Place, Islington in 1841, but appear to have started off in the parish of St. James, Clerkenwell where most of their children were born. Charles unhelpfully died before the next census so I couldn't confirm his place of birth which was, apparently, "out of county." Well, today Charles dropped his bombshell - he may not be named Charles after all! Some years back, I had ordered their eldest son, Alfred's, marriage certificate and his father's name was given as James Newton but I assumed the vicar had made an error as Alfred's middle name was James. This week I finally ordered the third son's (my direct ancestor) marriage certificate although I had the full date and place already, to see if the witnesses were related to the groom and if there was a specific address the groom was residing at (they weren't, and there wasn't). Once again, the father was named James Newton, so was the enumerator muddled, or was "Charles" James's second name, perhaps? Has anyone else had this happen to them?

Offline groom

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Me aged 3. Tidied up thanks to Wiggy.
    • View Profile
Re: An ancestor having the last laugh...
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 23 April 16 20:10 BST (UK) »
Have you got the baptisms of his children, what was he called on there? I imagine that perhaps his name was actually Charles James, but that he was known as James. Any information filled in by him would be as Charles, but any filled in by his children would be as James, as that was what they had always heard him called.