Author Topic: McKenzie of Howden?!  (Read 2893 times)

Offline scatchardfamily

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
McKenzie of Howden?!
« on: Sunday 22 May 16 23:59 BST (UK) »
Dear all

I have traced back to my GGG Grandmother, born Margaret Carr (b. Dec 1828 Blacktoft), whose second husband was called William McKenzie. These two married on 2 Dec 1848 in Howden and William died in Sep 1852. He was the son of John McKenzie.

That's all I know about this McKenzie family. I am wondering where on earth they popped up from? Can anybody know? I have no experience of Scots genealogy so would not know where to take this from here, if that is what we are dealing with...

Offline arthurk

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: McKenzie of Howden?!
« Reply #1 on: Monday 23 May 16 14:34 BST (UK) »
A couple of thoughts on this:

First, 20 seemed quite young to me for a second marriage, though not impossible, and on looking at the register image, I see Margaret is recorded as a spinster, and her father has the same surname. Also, the register gives her a being of full age (21 or over), so are you sure you have the right birth?

As for William, what does the 1851 census say about his place of birth? And 1841 if you can trace that? Ages will also be important. I see he's a blacksmith, which is a fairly settled occupation, but his father was a sailor. One possible scenario is that McKenzie senior came from Scotland and worked up and down the east coast, eventually settling in Yorkshire, but you'd have to see if you can find him in any Yorkshire records. An alternative is that William was born in Scotland and decided to move to Yorkshire - but the census should help to answer that.

There are lots of possibilities in all of this, so it's important to work steadily backwards, and find out as much as you possibly can in Yorkshire/England before launching into Scottish records.