Author Topic: What family tree program to use after Family Tree Maker?  (Read 2248 times)

Offline Spud Cham

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
What family tree program to use after Family Tree Maker?
« on: Tuesday 28 June 16 11:34 BST (UK) »
Greetings! I have been using FTM for several years and have found it really helpful finding other trees and contacts through the Ancestry connection. I have hit a brick wall with one particular line and am wondering if  anyone can recommend a similar program that will connect with other trees on the web? Does Find My Past have a similar program?
Thanks in advance Cheers Steve

Offline jim1

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • ain't life grand
    • View Profile
Re: What family tree program to use after Family Tree Maker?
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 28 June 16 12:39 BST (UK) »
MyHeritage is one but it's a dangerous path to take relying on other trees.
You don't know how accurate they are & if Ancestry is anything to go by, not very generally.
Warks:Ashford;Cadby;Clarke;Clifford;Cooke Copage;Easthope;
Edmonds;Felton;Colledge;Lutwyche;Mander(s);May;Poole;Withers.
Staffs.Edmonds;Addison;Duffield;Webb;Fisher;Archer
Salop:Easthope,Eddowes,Hoorde,Oteley,Vernon,Talbot,De Neville.
Notts.Clarke;Redfearne;Treece.
Som.May;Perriman;Cox
India Kane;Felton;Cadby
London.Haysom.
Lancs.Gay.
Worcs.Coley;Mander;Sawyer.
Kings of Wessex & Scotland
Census information is Crown copyright,from
www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/

Offline lizdb

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 28 June 16 12:43 BST (UK) »
I agree with Jim.

If there are records available that enable someone else to have broken through the brick wall, then no reason why you cant do it too.  But if there aren't, then others will be stuck at the same point.
Edmonds/Edmunds - mainly Sussex
DeBoo - London
Green - Suffolk
Parker - Sussex
Kemp - Essex
Farrington - Essex
Boniface - West Sussex