Author Topic: Benjamin Davies (Davis)  (Read 1099 times)

Offline aidansrest

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Benjamin Davies (Davis)
« on: Wednesday 20 July 16 15:05 BST (UK) »
Hi

Trying to find some more information on this person and his parents.
Benjamin Davies was born in Carmarthenshire, Wales c 1851 - I believe his birth registration may have taken place during the June quarter of 1851 (Carmarthen).
He married Martha Pinkney (Suffield) in Coatham, Yorkshire on the 4th February 1874 giving his father's name as James Davies.
Benjamin was a gardener by trade and he and Martha settled eventually in Seaham Harbour - he died there during the June quarter of 1931. He used the surname Davis from 1881.

I have tried to find him with his parents and have come across a Benjamin Davies in 1851, living in Moelfre and Idole, Carmarthenshire with his parents, James and Mary Davies.

James appears to have come from Llanhinglararth (?), Carmarthenshire whilst Mary comes from Trelech, Carmarthenshire. Both where born c 1824.
I think they may have married within the Newcastle Emlyn RD during the June quarter of 1846.

They also had another son, John, who was 2 years of age.

Mary is widowed by 1861, but the family has grown with the addition of Ann (aged 7 years) and William (aged 3 years).
Mary is living in Checker's Alley, St Peter, Carmarthenshire.

I cannot find her, or John, Ann and William, with any certainty after this date, although Benjamin can be traced, living in Wynyard Park, Durham, where he was employed as a gardener.

Any help in tracing his baptism, or info on his parents would be gratefully appreciated!

Thanks

Sue

Offline suzard

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Benjamin Davies (Davis)
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 20 July 16 19:29 BST (UK) »
Hi