Author Topic: Carpenter's Square, Thornaby, Yorkshire  (Read 3493 times)

Offline originQuest

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Carpenter's Square, Thornaby, Yorkshire
« on: Monday 05 September 16 13:20 BST (UK) »
Hi there,

I'm trying to see where Carpenter's Square in Thornaby was ... I studied at Thornaby, and an ancetor of mine was born there in the 1860s.  I imagine they were very different places between his and my time there.

Would there be an old map with it on?

Best wishes.

Offline AlisdairGB

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
Re: Carpenter's Square, Thornaby, Yorkshire
« Reply #1 on: Monday 12 September 16 14:42 BST (UK) »
This came from a 1968 paper

" BOROUGH OF THORNABY-ON-TEES
Notice is hereby given that at 10.30 in the forenoon of 12th March 1968, the Mayor, Aldermen and Burgesses of the Borough of Thornaby-on-Tees, acting by the Council, will apply to the Magistrates for the Petty Sessional Division of Thornaby and Yarm for Orders for the stopping-up of the following streets or parts of streets as being unnecessary, namely:
Trafalgar Street (part of), Prince Street (part of), Carpenter's Square (part of), Norton Place (part of), Trafalgar Street Side Street, Trafalgar Street (West Back) (two sections), Britannia Street (part), Alfred Street (part), Edward Street (part), Edward Street (West Back), Norton Place (South Back), Unnamed and Unadopted Street abutting the northern gable of number 36 Edward Street and part of northern gable of number 36 Chapel Street.
Plans showing the streets or parts of streets pro- posed to be stopped-up are deposited at the Town Hall, Thornaby-on-Tees, and may be inspected free of charge at all reasonable hours.
On the hearing of the application any person who uses the highways or any other person who would be aggrieved by the making of the Orders shall have the right to be heard."