Author Topic: Eli and Jimmy  (Read 1364 times)

Offline Dannemois

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • I've not edited my PROFILE yet
    • View Profile
Eli and Jimmy
« on: Tuesday 06 December 16 22:20 GMT (UK) »
Can someone please help.  I am researching the career of Rev. Elijah P. Schofield who made headlines around the world in the 40s and 50s for bringing his ventriloquist dummy 'Jimmie' into the pulpit as a preaching partner.

I have a subscription for find my past (British) unfortunately not (world wide) and I wondered if ask some kind person to do a look-up in American newspapers for any articles on him. 

I would appreciate and be very grateful for a full copy of the following snippet and copies of others.  Thank you in advance. 

.... The voice of the stooge, named “Jimmie ’. is that of the Rev. Elijah P. Schofield. Congregational minister... ...doesn't he stop the war'*” Schofield and “Jimmie” discussed the question and “Jimmie” gave this admonition... ...use It a* other talents.” says Schofield. “With non-church - going people it is the revelation that...
02 January 1949 - Abilene Reporter News - Abilene, Texas, United States Of America
anything and everything to do with the village of Brithdir, near New Tredegar in Gwent.

Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline RJ137

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Eli and Jimmy
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 07 December 16 00:14 GMT (UK) »
Buffalo NY Courier Express:  http://www.rootschat.com/links/01j09/

Rochester NY Democrat Chronicle: http://www.rootschat.com/links/01j0a/

Mix of articles: http://www.rootschat.com/links/01j0b/

Offline Dannemois

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 07 December 16 10:32 GMT (UK) »
Hello
Thank you for the links; appreciated.
anything and everything to do with the village of Brithdir, near New Tredegar in Gwent.

Offline Nerys27

• RootsChat Extra