Author Topic: Jessie KENNEDY of Dull (Perthshire) and census records  (Read 744 times)

Offline Nick_Ips

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Jessie KENNEDY of Dull (Perthshire) and census records
« on: Monday 16 January 17 11:27 GMT (UK) »

Hello, I'm new to research in Scotland, so please be gentle  :)

For many years I've been trying to locate someone called Jessie who married a George COLTHORPE from Suffolk. Jessie (aged 23) was living with her grandfather James CAMPBELL in Dull on the 1881 census. Over the years I've tried to find out Jessie's surname as I couldn't find a marriage to George. The new GRO birth index records for her children finally gave me the surname KENNEDY.

Using the free FindMyPast access over the weekend I managed to find James CAMPBELL in 1861 and (with some lateral thinking!) managed to 'discover' that his granddaughter 'Jannet' aged 3 was most likely to be one and the same as Jessie! The Jessie/Janet equivalence was a new one to me  ::)

The bit I'm now having trouble with is how to accurately record the census record references, having only used the England & Wales /Piece/Folio/Page style before. I understand the method in Scotland is to use parish number, ED and page and I assume the 1851 reference for James on the ScotlandsPeople website "346/6/28" is in that format. However the same record on FreeCEN has a piece number "SCT1851/346", and transcriptions on FindMyPast for later years use the RG9,RG10 style but without anything in the piece/folio/page fields.

So, am I right assuming the SP site reference 346/6/28 is Parish/ED/Page, and is there a standard way of quoting this to avoid confusion with the England & Wales Piece/Folio/Page? Is the FreeCEN prefix of "SCT1851" the generally accepted way of doing it?

Many thanks for reading and any help/advice you can offer.

Nick

Offline Forfarian

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • http://www.rootschat.com/links/01ruz/