Author Topic: Tipper family in Lasswade, 1770  (Read 789 times)

Offline Patricia Greber

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
Tipper family in Lasswade, 1770
« on: Saturday 11 February 17 00:00 GMT (UK) »
I am researching Anthony Tipper and Elizabeth Stockle who had three children in Lasswade, Midlothian. They had a son John before they came to the area. Anthony was a papermaker. There daughters Anne, Mary & Elizabeth.
After Elizabeth's baptism in 1770 I cannot seem to find any records of the family.

Son John joined the Royal Artillery and ended up in Canada. If anyone knows of any resources I can try to find out what happened to the family in Scotland I would appreciate any research tips as I am fairly new to Scotland research. (I have been on Scotlands People and Find My Past)
Dever, Melody, Jordan, Quigley, McMahon, McNamara, Loftus, Hodgins, McHugh, McGuinness, Cheatley - Ireland
Harrop, Murdie, Norton, Lee, Sharp - England
Jeffery, Stewart, Tipper - Scotland
Cudlipp

Offline Josephine

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Photo: Beardstown, Illinois
    • View Profile
Re: Tipper family in Lasswade, 1770
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 16 April 17 17:01 BST (UK) »
treesrch,

My first thought would be to see if any monumental inscriptions have been published for the local cemetery (or cemeteries).

Have you contacted the Midlothian Local Studies and Archive Service? Someone there might be able to provide some useful info as to what resources are available for that time period:

https://www.midlothian.gov.uk/info/458/local_and_family_history/391/local_studies

Regards,
Josephine
England: Barnett; Beaumont; Christy; George; Holland; Parker; Pope; Salisbury
Scotland: Currie; Curror; Dobson; Muir; Oliver; Pryde; Turnbull; Wilson
Ireland: Carson; Colbert; Coy; Craig; McGlinchey; Riley; Rooney; Trotter; Waters/Watters

Offline Josephine

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 16 April 17 17:49 BST (UK) »
treesrch,