Author Topic: Linguaglossa, Italy ancestors, please help...brick wall  (Read 1680 times)

Offline GreenAllie

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Linguaglossa, Italy ancestors, please help...brick wall
« on: Friday 03 March 17 21:23 GMT (UK) »
Hello all! Thank you for taking the time to read my post, and potentially help :) I am trying to help my father locate any records of his ancestors in Linguaglossa, Italy. We have been using Ancestry.com, but are finding road blocks  :-\ I'm very new to this site, and to forums in general---I just signed up yesterday-- so please bare with me, as I am still learning the ins and outs of how to properly post in here. Thank you again to anyone who wants to help!  ;D

~~~~~~~~-------------
Starting with my father's father (my grandfather) I know that:
His name was Richard, EMMI. Born, c. 1920 in New York, USA. His birth name was Salvatore EMMI, and he had two siblings, Julius EMMI c. 1921 and Emily EMMI c. 1923.
Parents of Salvatore (Richard), Emily and Julius were: Salvatore EMMI c. 1891-3, Linguaglossa Italy and Josephine DEGRASSE c. 1898, Italy.

While we are sort of interested in Josephine's family, we're more concerned with Salvatore of 1891's lineage.

I'm aware of one sibling of Salvatore EMMI c. 1891 named Concetto EMMI. Also, I have located a 1915 New York Census listing, potentially, Salvatore and Concetto's mother, Francesca. Though in the information blurb on Ancestry states that "Francis EMMI" is a 47 year old male, upon looking at the actual document, I can see that "M" for male has been written over with "F" for female, and the occupation is "House Work(er?)"