Author Topic: USAAF in Yorkshire of nearby counties  (Read 1148 times)

Offline garbfink

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
USAAF in Yorkshire of nearby counties
« on: Monday 13 March 17 05:57 GMT (UK) »
Hi all.

I've been slamming my head against a brick wall for the last three years now. I'm not sure if is ever going to get broken through but we'll see.

Im trying to trace a USAAF individual who was present in Yorkshire or close to during late 1942 early 1943.

My military knowledge is pretty rubbish but if anyone can point me in the right direction of what bases in your score may have been used by the USAAF during that period then I would appreciate it.

Also are the records for all usaaf personnel in tact or have some been lost etc?

Any help would be appreciated.

All the best

Simon.
Carr - Yorkshire
Fulcher - Middlesex
Garbutt - Yorkshire
Kay - United States

Offline MaxD

• Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: USAAF in Yorkshire of nearby counties
« Reply #1 on: Monday 13 March 17 08:06 GMT (UK) »
Have you searched at the US National Archives?  Here https://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/018.html for example are the records they hold.  An email  https://www.archives.gov/contact may get some guidance?  They also hold veterans records (subject to some restrictions) (top tab) if you find your individual.

maxD
I am Zoe Northeast, granddaughter of Maximilian Double.

It is with great difficulty I share with you that in the early hours of 07 August 2021, Maximilian passed away unexpectedly but peacefully.

With deep sadness,
Zoe

Double  Essex/Suffolk
Randle/Millington Warwicks
Sokser/Klingler Austria/Croatia

Offline BumbleB

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 13 March 17 08:14 GMT (UK) »
This website professes to name all the USAAF bases in England from 1942.